Palani Murugan

Arulmigu Palaniandavar
Arulmigu Palaniandavar College of Arts & Culture, Palani
College of Arts & Culture, Palani

Arulmigu Palaniandavar College of Arts & Culture, Palani was founded by Arulmigu Dandayudhapani Swami Tirukoil, Palani in 1963. The birth of this institution marked not only the fulfillment of a long-felt need but also a great step forward in the upliftment of the educational status of this part of Dindigul District.

Thanks to the remarkable zeal evinced by the trustees of the Tirukoil and the high moral support extended to them by the then Chief Minister, Tiru M. Bakthavachalam as well as by outstanding educationists like Dr. A. Lakshmanasamy Mudaliar and Rao Sahib Captain Dr. D. Sivasubramania Mudaliar, the College took shape much faster than expected and within a year it became a full-fledged first grade college affiliated to Madras University.

The College was affiliated to Madurai Kamaraj University in 1969. The institution has now come into its own as a first grade college of mighty proportions. The College offers degree courses in eleven subjects and post-graduate courses in ten subjects besides M. Phil and Ph.D. in some disciplines.

The College is housed in the imposing buildings that stand on the Dindigul Road set against sylvan background and overlooked by the sacred Palani Hills. Standing right at the feet of the great Palani Āndavar, this temple of learning has drawn over 1400 votaries opting for various courses of study. Juxtaposed with the main buildings of the College stand the no less imposing hostel buildings.

Arulmigu Palani Āndavar College of Indian Culture was merged with the Arulmigu Palani Āndavar College in 1981-82 and renamed as Arulmigu Palani Āndavar College of Arts & Culture. We are confident that the day is not very far off when the entire terrain in and around Sivagiripatti will be converted into a great centre of learning -- almost a Shanti Niketan of the South.

The College is run by Arulmigu Dandayudhapani Swami Tirukkoil under the guidance of the H.R. & C.E., (Admn.) Department, Chennai and is naturally committed to certain ideals and principles which are in tune with the greatest traditions of Indian life and Culture. It believes in and follows a pattern of curricular activities that is inseparably bound up with the pattern of values and traditions symbolized by the great temple of the sacred Palani Hills.

The College begins its day's work with prayer in the shape of a melodious hymn in praise of Lord Muruga broadcast over a network of microphone speakers throughout the College premises. We begin our day with hand raised in bhakti reminding ourselves of the temple over the Hill and invoking His blessing on all our humble efforts to serve the community and ourselves. Every staff member, every student, parent and every one who walks into portals of this institution is therefore, called upon to identify himself with the way of life symbolized by that prayer.

For more information contact:

Arulmigu Palaniandavar College of Arts & Culture
Palani - 624 602 India
Tel. (91) 04545-42247

Administration Building
Main classroom and administration building, Palaniandavar College of Arts & Culture
College dormitories
College dormitories
College activities
Sports and studies at the foot of Palani Malai
Computer Section
Computer section boasts dozens of new networked computers

Succession of Principals

Tiru. S. Arumuga Mudaliar, MA.,B.O.L.,LT.

20.06.63 to 01-09-63

Tiru. S. Lakshminarayanan, MA., L.T.

02-09-63 to 08-06-65

Tiru. R. Arumugam, MA.,L.T.

09-06-65 to 08-06-66

Tiru. K.K. Arunachalam, MA.

09-06-66 to 30-06-84

Tiru. S. Saratchandran MA.

01-07-84to 18-06-86

Tiru. R.S. Chandransekaran, MA.,D.S.S.C.

19-06-86 to 31-05-88

Dr. (Miss.) A. Punugu, B.Sc., (Hons) M.S. (TulaneI, Ph.D. (Tnontol)

01-06-88 to 31-05-90

Tiru. S. Saratchandran, MA., (Principal in charge)

01-06-90 to 30-09-91

Tiru. TR. Srinivasan, MA.

01-10-91 to 31-05-94

Tiru. N. Sivaramakrishnan, MA., M.Phil., (Principal in-charge)

01-06-94 to 22-12-94

Dr. S. Jeyabalan, M.Com., M.Phil., Ph.D.

23-12-94 to date

College Council

Dr. S. Jeyabalan, M.Com., M.Phil., Ph.D.


Tiru. S. Velusamy, M.A.

Tamil Department

Tiru. K. Rathinavelu, M.A. M.Phil.

English Department

Tiru. C. Subbarayalu., M.A., M.Phil.

History Department

Dr. Y. Kandasamy, M.A., R.D.,

Indian Culture Dept.

Tiru. R. Arunachalam, M.Sc., M.Rhil.,Dip.

SADP Physics Dept.

Tiru. V.K. Ravi, M.Sc.

Chemistry Department

Tiru. R. Rajagopal, M.Sc., M.Phil.

Botany Department

Tiru. C. Selvam, M.A., M.Phil.

Economics Department

Tiru. Y. Gopal M.Com., M.Phil.

Commerce Department

Tiru. R. Bangarusamy, M.A., M.R.Ed., M.Phil.

Director of Physical Ed.

Tiru. R. Ponnusamy, M.Sc.

Mathematics Dept.

Dr. S. Arunachalam, M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.

Zoology Dept.